How to delete or close a bank account?

This article explains when and how you can delete a bank account, and how to close a bank account in ExpensePlus.

How to delete a bank account

You can only delete a bank account from ExpensePlus if it has never been used within the system (and therefore has no transactions associated with it).

This may be the case where it was entered in the first place by mistake, or has been dormant with a zero balance for longer than you've used ExpensePlus.

You can delete the account within the Bank & Cash Accounts settings screen using the 'delete' (dustbin) icon to the right of the table.

If the delete icon is greyed out (which it will be in most cases), you cannot delete the account - this account is an important part of your financial audit trail. The reason for this will be displayed if you hover over the greyed out icon.

How to close a bank account

If you have a bank account in ExpensePlus which you've stopped using, and it has a zero balance, you can close the bank account in Bank & Cash Accounts.

To close the bank account, click the 'X' icon to the right of the table.

If the 'X'  icon is greyed out, you can't close the bank account. The reason for this will be displayed if you hover over the greyed out icon.

Once closed, the account will remain listed in ExpensePlus. You can view it and reopen it by clicking the 'Manage Closed' button at the top of the screen.

ExpensePlus bank and cash account settings

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Send us a message Send us a message