How do I deactivate or delete donors?

This article explains how to deactivate or delete a donor.

You can manage all your donors on the Manage Donors screen.

Deleting donors

You can only 'delete' donors if they have no donation transactions associated with them. You can delete these donors if the bin symbol appears next to their name.

The info line at the top of the screen will also tell you if you have any donors that have no transactions associated with them, and will give you the option to delete these in bulk.

Deactivating donors

You can deactivate donors that have transactions associated with them.

To deactivate a donor, click the 'X' button to the right-hand side of the Manage Donors table.

ExpensePlus Manage Donors screen highlighting the Manage Deactivated icon as well as the Deactivate and Delete icons next to a donor

When you deactivate a donor, this will delete any remembered transaction references associated with this donor. This means that if you reactivate the donor, their donations will not automatically quick match until the transaction description is memorised again and a new quick match reference is created.

Donations reconciled to this donor won't be deleted when you deactivate the donor.

Reactivating donors

If you click on 'Manage Deactivated', you will be able to see any 'deactivated' donors and reactivate them by clicking the tick button to the right of the donor.


To better understand the Manage Donors module, please view the module overview here.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Send us a message Send us a message