Viewing and managing recurring LoveGiving donations
This article explains how to view and manage recurring donations given via LoveGiving.
In this article:
Cancelling recurring donations
Viewing recurring donations
To view your LoveGiving donations, within the LoveGiving Dashboard, select 'View Donations via LoveGiving'.

Then, to view recurring donations, select 'Manage Recurring' at the top of the screen.

The Manage Recurring Donations screen will display any recurring donations that are currently active.

Cancelling recurring donations
To cancel a recurring donation, in the Manage Recurring Donations screen, click the 'delete' button (bin con) to the right of the recurring donation.
Once you've cancelled a recurring donation, it's not possible to reverse the cancellation without asking the donor to set up another recurring donation within LoveGiving - see this separate Help Guide article which covers how donors can do this.
Donors can manage their own recurring donations, including cancelling a recurring donation or updating the donation amount. Find out more.
Recurring donations where card details are about to expire
Stripe automatically emails donors to notify them when their saved card is about to expire. By default, this sends an email 1 month before the card's expiration date for cards on file.
You can read here how to check your Stripe settings.
Before sending an email, Stripe's automatic Card Updater usually communicates directly with banks to update new expiration dates and card numbers in the background without the cardholder having to take action.
Viewing recurring donations that have ended
To view a report of recurring donations that have ended, at the top of the Manage Recurring Donations screen, select the 'View Ended' button.

The 'Manage Recurring Donations - Ended' report shows all recurring donations that have ended, when they ended, and the reason why they ended.

The 4 reasons shown are:
- Cancelled by Donor - where the donor cancels their own recurring donation (find out more)
- Cancelled by User - where an ExpensePlus user cancels the recurring donation
- Payment Failed - where it was not possible to take the payment (e.g. because the donor's bank declined the payment)
- Updated by Donor - where the donor has updated their own recurring donation (e.g. updated their donation amount). Where this happens, the new recurring donation will show within the manage recurring donations screen, and the old recurring donation will display within the 'ended' recurring donations report).
Where a donation has been cancelled by an ExpensePlus user, you can hover over the 'cancelled by user' status to show the name of the user who cancelled the recurring donation (where this took place after September 2026).
To better understand the LoveGiving module, please view the module overview here.