How does receipt checking work?
Most receipts are uploaded into ExpensePlus directly by the user when they submit their purchase request.
They will either:
- submit the receipt by uploading a picture or pdf of the receipt through their file browser,
- email in a copy of the receipt, or
- take a photo of the receipt directly when entering the purchase via their phone or tablet.
Such receipts appear automatically in the 'Manage Receipts' screen via the 'Check Uploaded' option. This button will show the number of receipts needing to be checked in brackets ()
Checking receipts is easy - if the supplier, amount, and description are correct, simply click 'Accept' and the next receipt will automatically appear to be checked.
If the receipt provided is either unreadable, incorrect, or doesn't match the expense it has been uploaded against, you can click the 'Reject' option.
Please select a reason from the list as to why the receipt was rejected and click 'confirm'. An email will be automatically sent to the submitter letting them know their receipt has been rejected, and what to do next. This email includes the receipt attachment, so if receipts are rejected by mistake the uploaded receipt isn't lost.
Once all receipts are uploaded and have been checked, receipt reminder emails can be sent by simply clicking the 'send receipt reminders' button at the bottom of the screen. This will send an automatic email to all users that have receipts outstanding for more than 7 days.
You can also authorise lost receipts via the adjacent button on this page.
To help you better understand the Receipts module as a whole, please visit the module overview page here.